American familyCultural HistoryRace and GenderU.S. Politics
This is the "General Library Resources" page of the "American Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

American Studies   Tags: americanstudies, history  

A resource guide for students in American Studies courses.
Last Updated: Apr 8, 2014 URL: http://libraryguides.marlboro.edu/americanstudies Print Guide RSS Updates

General Library Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome to the American Studies Resource Guide

 

Reference Titles in Library

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of American Social History - Mary K. Cayton (Editor); Elliott J. Gorn (Editor); Peter W. Williams (Editor)
Call Number: REF 301.0973 E56 V. 1-3
ISBN: 0684192462
Publication Date: 1993-02-01

The Statistical History of the United States - Ben J. Wattenberg
Call Number: REF 317.3 U58xWa
ISBN: 0465082033
Publication Date: 1976-11-01

Encyclopedia of American history
Call Number: REF 973.02 M87

Cover Art
Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America - Jeffrey Lehman (Editor); Robert Dassanowsky (Editor)
Call Number: Ebook - Gale Virtual Reference Collection
ISBN: 0787639869
Publication Date: 1999-12-01

Article Databases

  • Academic OneFile
    Similar to ProQuest Central, but with some different journals and a different interface. Try both!
  • Academic Search Premier
    Our largest research database, and a good place to start almost any search. Scholarly journal articles from all disciplines, plus popular magazines and news. Thousands of full-text titles.
  • AnthroSource
    Search and read the full text of journals published by the American Anthropological Association. Includes 32 publications and tens of thousands of articles in anthropology.
  • JSTOR
    The full text of hundreds of scholarly journals, from their first issues until around five years ago.
  • ProjectMUSE
    Current/recent content from scholarly journals in the humanities & social sciences. Includes Reviews in American History.

Google Scholar

What's Google Scholar?

Google Scholar is a subset of Google that is designed to search for academic and scholarly articles and books online.

Why use Google Scholar?

 1. It's free.

 2. It uses a simple, familiar interface that works much like regular Google.

 3. It finds scholarly books, articles, and conference papers from a wide range of disciplines.

 4. When in the College IP range, Google Scholar will to link to books and articles available through Marlboro College

 

Rice-Aron Library

Profile Image
Rice-Aron Library
Logo - FacebookLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
(802) 258-9221
Send Email
 

Guide Creator

Many thanks to Jess Weitz, Rice-Aron library intern, Spring 2010, for creating this guide.

Can't FInd What You Need?

Try Interlibrary Loan!

  • Use materials from other libraries' collections
  • Available to current Marlboro College students, faculty, and staff.
  • Books arrive within 2 weeks and are held in your name.
  • You will be notified by e-mail when your items arrive.

Request materials online via
ILL request forms

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip