Books In the LibraryOnline Resources
Books in the LibraryOnline Resources
This is the "Texts & Contexts" page of the "Classics" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Classics   Tags: classics, greek, languages, latin, literature, philosphy  

Research aspects of language, life, and culture in ancient Greece, Rome, and beyond.
Last Updated: Jan 20, 2014 URL: http://libraryguides.marlboro.edu/classics Print Guide RSS Updates

Texts & Contexts Print Page
  Search: 
 

Texts and Translations

See also the Latin and Greek tabs, above, for text collections specifically in those languages.

  • Perseus Digital Library
    Massive online library of Greek and Latin texts, with information about words and forms, as well as English translations and commentary. Also includes Arabic, Germanic, and other materials.
  • Bibliotheca Augustana
    A collection of literary texts in Latin, Greek, and other languages. Nota bene: the website itself is written in Latin. Caveat lector!
  • eBook Academic Collection
    Online collection of 125,000+ books; includes translations and criticisms of classical works.
 

Google Books

Older (pre-1923) editions of classical texts, commentaries, and criticism are in the public domain. Many of these can be found in their entirety in Google Books.




Context: Understanding the Classical World

The library offers online access to the following reference works; if prompted to log in, use your Marlboro username and password.

  • Concise Oxford Companion to Classical Literature
    Gives accounts of the lives of many classical authors and character entries and plot summaries for their works. General entries trace the development of literary forms such as comedy and tragedy. There is also wide coverage of the historical, political, social, and artistic background.
  • Oxford Classical Dictionary
    Over 6200 entries covering Greek and Roman history, literature, myth, religion, linguistics, philosophy, law, science, art and archaeology, and topics in near eastern studies and late antiquity.
  • Oxford Companion to Classical Civilization
    685 entries on classical civilization covering diverse fields such as: history and politics; ethics and morals; law and punishment; social and family life; language, literature, and art; religion and mythology; technology, science, and medicine.
  • Oxford Dictionary of the Classical World
    More than 2,500 entries on the civilizations of ancient Greece and Rome. Covers key aspects of ancient Greek and Roman life and literature, such as science, social structure, philosophy, and religion. Contains comprehensive articles on central figures, both real and mythological, from Achilles to Zeno.
  • Princeton Encyclopedia of Classical Sites
    Articles on over 5,000 Greco-Roman sites, with accompanying bibliography. Now available via the Perseus Digital Library.
  • Who's Who in the Classical World
    Focuses exclusively on real people. Covers Greek and Roman history and politics, literature, philosophy, science, and art. Shorter entries provide lucid factual accounts, while the longer entries are short essays covering major historical and cultural themes in antiquity.

Library Director

Profile Image
Emily Alling
Logo - FacebookLogo - Google TalkLogo - LinkedInLogo - SkypeLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
Rice-Aron Library
(802) 451-7577
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip