This is the "Find Articles, Books, Images" page of the "Community-Based Performance" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Community-Based Performance   Tags: community_based_performance, ken, theater, theatre  

Find information on community-based theater and arts using these resources from the Rice-Aron Library.
Last Updated: Nov 1, 2010 URL: http://libraryguides.marlboro.edu/cbp Print Guide RSS Updates

Find Articles, Books, Images Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Words to Try

Here are some terms that can get you started looking for information on community-based performance. Try mixing and matching. Try your own words, too! And take note of the subject headings that the database assigns to relevant articles that you find.

Community arts projects
Community theater
Community theater -- Social aspects
Performance art
Street theater
Theater -- Political aspects
Theater and society

Plus, of course, add on words about your own topic: names of populations; types of organizations or institutions; geography, etc.

Good luck -- and remember, librarians are always happy to help with your search.

Interesting Links

  • Radical Reference (about)
    Librarians who take to the streets with activists and protestors, providing information and answering questions. Also an online reference service for activists and journalists.
  • Community Arts Network
    Sadly, this website has been discontinued, but it is archived in the Wayback Machine and can still be viewed. Their tagline: "Promoting information exchange, research and critical dialogue within the field of community-based art"

Find Articles

  • Project MUSE
    Collection of academic journals in the humanities and social sciences. Includes some good articles on community-based performance. Articles are full-text. Content is recent (current and last several years).
  • Academic Search Premier
    A real workhorse for almost any topic. Includes scholarly and popular articles. If you find articles that aren't full-text, you can request them via Interlibrary Loan with just a few clicks.
  • Google Scholar
    Easy to use, Google Scholar can point you to millions of scholarly articles, books, and dissertations. Look for links to the right of citations that say "PDF" or "Online at Marlboro" to link to full text.
  • LexisNexis Academic
    Want to compare how Fox News and NPR covered the WTO protests in Seattle? Curious to find news articles about a particular community-based performance that has happened? LexisNexis is your database. Tricky to use, but once you figure it out, good stuff awaits.
  • Humanities International Complete
    Another good source of articles on community arts and theater, with an emphasis on the humanities.

Find Books

  • Marlboro College Library Catalog
    Search our library's collection of books, DVDs, VHS, CDs.
  • WorldCat.org
    Huge, combined catalog of most of the world's libraries. If you find books that look good, we can get them for you via Interlibrary Loan.

Find Images

When using images in a presentation or publication, make sure that you are observing copyright and fair use guidelines -- and cite, cite, cite!

  • Creative Commons Search (beta)
    Find images, video, and more that have Creative Commons licenses, which allow free reuse of a work (sometimes with conditions--check to make sure).
  • Flickr Advanced Search
    Find images that have been uploaded to Flickr. Advanced Search gives you an option to limit to Creative Commons-licensed images.
  • Google Advanced Image Search
    Like Flickr, allows you to filter content by license terms.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip