The best places to start researching human rights issues, and some tips on how to start.
Last Updated: Nov 4, 2010
Marlboro has access to these databases through the end of November 2010. Take advantage of them while you can!
- America: History and Life
Covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
- Historical Abstracts
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
- Biography Reference Bank
Citations to and full text of biographical information for millions of people.
- Britannica Online
Online version of the Encyclopaedia Britannica. Overviews of topics. Updated frequently. A scholarly alternative to Wikipedia.
- Academic Search Premier
All subjects. Scholarly journals and magazines, many full-text. A great starting point for most searches.
- Project MUSE
Current/recent content from scholarly journals in the humanities & social sciences. We have the Basic Research Collection.
Full-text articles from scholarly journals in humanities, social sciences, life sciences. Most recent 3-5 years not included.
- Academic OneFile
All subjects. Scholarly journals and magazines, many full-text. Includes the full text of The New York Times from 1985 to present.
- Google Scholar
Millions of citations to scholarly sources. Check out options in Advanced Search. Look for links to full text to the right of citations. Using from off campus? Access through this link (or the library website) to ensure access to all Marlboro holdings.
Very rich source of local, national, and international news (current and past several years), as well as law and legal materials including case law, legal codes, and law reviews.
- Rice-Aron Library Catalog
The full text of 47,000+ academic books in all subjects. Search inside the book; create notes and bookmarks; build and save a bookshelf.
- Google Books
Google is digitizing the contents of some of the world's biggest libraries. Because of copyright rules, most of the books cannot be read in their entirety--but some can, and you can search or see snippets of others.