Online Encyclopedias
Encyclopedias can provide a great introduction to a topic. In general, relying heavily on encyclopedias as the basis of college-level work is frowned upon. Two good uses for encyclopedias: (1) get yourself up to speed on a topic and identify key issues and possible search terms; (2) use their Works Cited pages to get leads to actual primary and secondary literature on a topic. Those are the types of things you should be citing in your academic work.
- Britannica OnlineStandard scholarly source for overviews of topics.
- WikipediaAs you probably know, ANYONE can edit Wikipedia -- so take what you read with a grain of salt. That said, studies have shown that Wikipedia content is often quite accurate, especially in the sciences. Best bet: Use as a starting point; verify and cite any important facts using more standard sources. Tip: check out the Discussion and View history tabs to see how the Wikipedia editing community is handling a topic.
- Encyclopedia of American Social History (print in the Reference Room)REF 301.0973 E56 v. 1-3
- Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)Search across dozens of scholarly encyclopedias. Excellent for overview of your topic with leads to other secondary sources and primary sources.
- Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America (GVRL)Great information about different cultural backgrounds (i.e. Japanese-Americans, Norwegian Americans) in the US.
- American Decades (GVRL)A lot of great background information about the US from 1900-1999. Each decade has a full volume.
- Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology (GVRL)
Comments (0)

Loading...
